Schengen Agreement Countries List

  • 23.9.2023
  • Yleinen
  • nykke

The Schengen Agreement is a treaty between a group of European countries that abolished passport control and other types of border checks at their mutual borders. The agreement has been in effect since 1995 and has since been expanded to include more member states. This article will provide a comprehensive list of Schengen Agreement countries to help individuals plan their travels accordingly.

As of 2021, there are 26 countries that are part of the Schengen Area. These countries are:

1. Austria

2. Belgium

3. Czech Republic

4. Denmark

5. Estonia

6. Finland

7. France

8. Germany

9. Greece

10. Hungary

11. Iceland

12. Italy

13. Latvia

14. Liechtenstein

15. Lithuania

16. Luxembourg

17. Malta

18. Netherlands

19. Norway

20. Poland

21. Portugal

22. Slovakia

23. Slovenia

24. Spain

25. Sweden

26. Switzerland

It is important to note that not all European Union (EU) countries are members of the Schengen Area. The United Kingdom and Ireland, for example, are EU members but have their own separate border agreements. Additionally, some non-EU countries, such as Norway, Switzerland, and Iceland, are part of the Schengen Area.

The Schengen Agreement has numerous benefits for travelers, including the ability to move freely throughout the participating countries without the need for passport checks or visas. However, it is important to note that some Schengen Area countries may have additional entry requirements for non-EU citizens, such as proof of travel insurance or a return ticket.

In conclusion, the Schengen Agreement is a significant development in European travel that has made it easier for millions of people to move freely throughout the participating countries. With this list of Schengen Agreement countries, individuals can plan their travels accordingly and take advantage of the numerous benefits offered by this agreement.